DIY Christmas

So I wanted to share the DIY gifts I made for Christmas this year for my friends and family.  Unfortunately you will have to deal with crappy cell phone pictures (I lost my camera battery charger for like 3 weeks in December, fail!).

Vanilla Extract. It is SUPER easy to make and you can get a bunch of vanilla beans online for much, much  cheaper than in the local stores.  I bought mine from Beanilla.  All you do is fill your jars up with vodka and add split vanilla beans. The ratio is about 1/3 cup of vodka to one vanilla bean.  You’re supposed to let it sit for at least six weeks in a dark, cool spot before you use it.  I cut out some circle tags out of kraft paper, stamped them, and attached them with some cute bakers twine.

I also made some fun necklaces. You can’t see them well here I know, but it started as a light piece of wood.  After lots of cutting, a dremmel purchase, sanding, staining and painting…they were done!  They were all the same colors (a dark wood stain with gold paint), but the shapes and designs were irregular.  I loved how they came out.

6 responses to “DIY Christmas

  1. band of brothers

    such fun gifts! Love!

  2. ahhhh, I LOVE those! Bofe of em! My pretty crafty friend, we need to get together and make things!

  3. Oooh those necklaces are super cute! And that vanilla looks yummy! The vanilla beans make those jars look especially adorable. Good work, lady!

  4. Wait, you can MAKE vanilla extract?! I had no idea! What an awesome gift idea 🙂

  5. I had no clue that the liquid was vodka! Haha, so does that mean if I don’t wait the full time period, I’ll end up with vanilla vodka 😉

  6. Ugh, you! you make me look so bad with your skillssssss.
    That vanilla looks so drinkable. Maybe because I saw the ingredient vodka, mmm.

Leave a Reply

