The Pre-Cleanse

Cleanse. I’m not even joking here.  You may be surprised after seeing my last few  posts about eggplant parmesan, cupcakes and other baked goods. I kind of am too.   I’ve seen a handful of people talk about trying the Blueprint Cleanse over the past few months, and while I wasn’t intrigued at first – the last person I read trying it left me with a feeling of MUST. BUY. NOW.  Then I looked at the price, and kind of re-thought that.  It’s pricey.  But I have an addiction to buying random things online at a whim, so I bought it. Just kidding (I mean, I probably really do have a problem..sigh, why do they make it SO easy to purchase things with two clicks?).

Anyways, Chris said he wanted to try it as well! Which I’m extra excited for; some women I’ve seen do this had to COOK REAL FOOD for the rest of their family while all they had was juice. Sad.  So I ordered two 3-day cleanses for us that arrive for us on Thursday.  I’m really excited to try all of the juices (6 a day) and see how my body reacts to this.  I’m not really doing it to lose weight, but I’m sure I will.  No coffee, no beer, no cupcakes, no carbs…ah!  And you  need to pre-cleanse beforehand so your body doesn’t want to bunch itself in the face when you suddenly switch from a hamburger to drinking super healthy juice all of the sudden.  So this is what Chris and I bought at the grocery store today:

It was pretty comical trying to fit all of this stuff on my kitchen island, you can’t see half of it.  We have: bananas, oranges, lemons, peaches, apples, a coconut, strawberries, frozen blueberries & raspberries, pineapple, raw almonds, pistachios, corn, snap peas, avocados, agave, almond butter, corn, tomatoes, spinach, kale, arugala, sprouts, asparagus, onions, a sweet potato, and a some nutrient packed juices that happened to be on sale for 85 cents 🙂 Whew. That blows my mind.

So that’s what we will be eating for the next 4 days, then we’ll start the 3-day juice cleanse.  Our friends let us borrow their juicer so I’m going to spend the rest of the evening looking for juice recipes to make for this week.  We will also have to “post-cleanse” with the same types of stuff to get our bodies sort of back to normal.  I’m hoping the cleanse will make me feel better in general, have more energy, help me lose some weight, and not feel like I have to stuff my face/finish entire meals.  Let’s do this!

PS, going to go have my final beer and perhaps an ice cream 😉

4 responses to “The Pre-Cleanse

  1. So what is the actual cleanse called? And is there anything specific that it’s for, or just a general cleanse? Aaron LOVES this kind of stuff and is always looking for new ones.
    Your pics always make everything look SO good.

  2. Good Luck!! Can’t wait to hear how it goes!

  3. Good for you guys! I think cleanses like this can do a lot of good. I tried the crazy master cleanse a few years ago and while it was a bit more extreme it really did help my digestive system calm the eff down. It also gave me a greater appreciation for the fruits and veggies and whole grains that my body actually wanted and needed. Can’t wait to hear how it goes!

  4. Oooh, let us know how it goes!! A friend of mine went on a diet where she ate only fruit for 3 days and lost 3 pounds but she had already lost 40 pounds. Now you got me thinking about it, maybe I should do a cleanse now before all the crazy holidays.

Leave a Reply

