Hello, cake.

I haven’t ever been much of a cake-maker.  I’ve made a couple small individual cakes to go with cupcakes, but that’s about it. I remember making them as a teenager and the middles always caved in, so I figured I sucked at cakes.

A few weeks ago I had a girl ask me to do a Hello Kitty cake and red velvet cupcakes for her sister’s baby shower. I’m not gonna lie, I was kind of freaked out. I was like “yeah…I can do that!” {I hope!}.  I always do a ton of research when I’m baking something new, so I think I found a great white cake and icing recipe that I can use from now on.  Another new-ish thing to me was using fondant.  I’ve used it very briefly before just to cut out some heart shapes for cupcakes.  Anyways, here’s how it all turned out, I’m hoping she will send me a photo of the cupcakes and cake all set up together soon!

Some things I learned: having your AC go out during baking is not fun, and frosting will not be your friend at this point.  Need more kitchen space. Need more fridge/freezer space.  Everything always takes longer than you plan. Red velvet cupcakes are better days later.  My handwriting is not pretty, hence fondant letters.

10 responses to “Hello, cake.

  1. Is that homemade fondant?

  2. Oh mahhh gawwwsh, gotta get your cupcake stands back to you! They’re at my Aunt’s. With all the hustle & bustle of the shower that day and then moving, I totally forgot.
    Second…get real on this cake & cupcakes…they look AMAZING. You did an awesome job, and I bet they were quite tasty too!

  3. !!! you are so talented – love this. 🙂

  4. Everything turned out great! Those little flowers are adorable and they give the cakes such a professional touch. You could make some serious moola off of this talent of yours!

  5. Oh love it! Such a cute idea and you did a fabulous job! 🙂

  6. Wow, those turned out great!!! Love it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

