I Bake: S’more Brownies

I made these brownies for my nieces birthday party. They didn’t turn out nearly as “pretty” as I hoped, but they still tasted really good!!!

Anyways, my only gripe about this particular recipe was that the graham cracker crust on the bottom was a little too crumbly (I even added a little extra butter, based on the reviews). Otherwise, they tasted amazing and that alone makes up for the messiness 🙂 So here’s the recipes with a few tweaks from me.

S’more Brownies
Recipe adapted from Food Network

Ingredients:
Crust:
1 stick unsalted butter, melted
1-1/2 cups graham cracker crumbs
2 tbsp white sugar
1/4 tsp salt

Brownie:
1 stick unsalted butter
4 oz. unsweetened chocolate, chopped
1 cup packed light brown sugar
3/4 cup white sugar
1-1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp salt
4 large eggs
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup chocolate chips

Topping:
4 cups large marshmallows

Directions:
Position a rack in the lower third of the oven and preheat the oven to 325 degrees F. Line an 8″x8″ square baking pain with foil so it hangs of the edges by about 1 inch.

For the crust: lightly coat the foil with some of the melted butter. Sitr the rest of the butter together with the crumbs, sugar and salt in a medium bowl. Press the crumb mixture evenly over the bottom of the pan and bake until golden brown, about 20 mins.

Meanwhile, bake the brownie. Put the butter and chocolate in a medium microwave save bowl. Melt in the microwave on 75% power for 2 minutes. Sitr, and microwave again until completely melted, about another 2 minutes. Stir both sugars, vanilla and salt into the melted chocolate. Add the eggs and beat vigorously to make a thick and glossy batter. Add the flour and stir until just incorporated. Fold in the chocolate chips.

Pour the batter into the prepared pan over the crust. Bake until the top is crispy and a toothpick comes out mostly clean, about 40 to 45 minutes.

Remove from the oven and carefully position a rack about 6-inches from the broiler and preheat on low. Layer the marshmallows across the top and toast under the boiler until golden (this will happen fairly quick so keep an eye on them). If you have a creme brulee torch, I recommend to use that instead to get a nice even, light brown toast.  Cool on a rack, gently removing the brownies from the pan using the aluminum flaps. Separate any marshmallow from the foil and fold away. Cut into squares.

7 responses to “I Bake: S’more Brownies

  1. I’d really appreciate it if you’d stop making me drool every time I visit your blog 🙂

    Those look amaaaaazing!

  2. omg! that looks really yummy! Thanks for sharing that recipe with us. I can’t wait to try it!

  3. Even if they may not be “perfect” looking, they look delicious regardless! Actually, they look like a s’more just melted all over a brownie, and that’s delicious 🙂

  4. guh. i am getting serious about watching my calories this month, but that picture makes me wonder why.

  5. omg, those look so ooey gooey GOOD!!! I want to try these…but am too lazy to put the effort into baking them LOL! DANGIT! I think my husband needs to take up baking huh?

Leave a Reply

