I Bake: Coconut Vanilla Bean Cupcakes

I’m trying to space out my cupcake-talk a little bit, buuuut that’s kind of hard when it’s all I have been doing.  This is another GREAT recipe that I decided to make for the 100 cupcakes I made for my friend’s art show.  I wanted to do a white cupcake and coconut just sounded perfect. Paired with a vanilla bean frosting? Yes please. Surprisingly, it seemed like all of my cupcake testers liked this cupcake more than any of the chocolaty ones! I made it twice and I love the second version much better because I tweaked the recipe I found a little. Enjoy!

Coconut Cupcakes w/Vanilla Bean Frosting
Makes approximately 24-30 cupcakes. Recipes adapted from Food Network & BrownEyedBaker

Ingredients:
3/4 pound (3 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
2 cups sugar
5 extra-large eggs at room temperature
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 1/2 teaspoons coconut extract
1 1/2 teaspoons almond extract
3 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
1 cup buttermilk + 2 Tablespoons
7 ounces sweetened, shredded coconut

Frosting:
2½ sticks unsalted butter, softened
1 vanilla bean, halved lengthwise
2½ cups confectioners’ sugar
Pinch salt
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 Tablespoons heavy cream

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F and line two muffin pans with paper liners.

In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream the butter and sugar on high speed until light and fluffy, about 5 minutes. With the mixer on low speed, add the eggs, 1 at a time, scraping down the bowl after each addition. Add the vanilla and almond extracts and mix well.

In a separate bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. In 3 parts, alternately add the dry ingredients and the buttermilk to the batter, beginning and ending with the dry. Mix until just combined. Fold in coconut.

Fill each liner almost to the top with batter. Bake for 25 to 35 minutes, until the tops are brown and a toothpick comes out clean. Allow to cool in the pan for 10 minutes. Remove to a baking rack and cool completely.

Meanwhile, make the frosting. In a standing mixer fitted with the whisk attachment, beat the butter at medium-high speed until smooth, about 20 seconds. Using a paring knife, scrape seeds from vanilla bean into butter and beat mixture at medium-high speed to combine, about 15 seconds.

Add confectioners’ sugar and salt; beat at medium-low speed until most of the sugar is moistened, about 1 minute. Scrape down the bowl and beat at medium speed until mixture is fully incorporated, about 30 seconds; scrape bowl, add vanilla and heavy cream, and beat at medium speed until incorporated, about 20 seconds, then increase speed to medium-high and beat until light and fluffy, about 4 minutes, scraping down bowl once or twice.

Frost cooled cupcakes! Devour. Yum.

129 responses to “I Bake: Coconut Vanilla Bean Cupcakes

  1. I think your blog would be more appropriately named Cupcake Dreams, don’t you think? 🙂 One of these days I am going to try one of your recipes! This one sounds just as delicious as the others! I looove coconut.

  2. You came up for me as a suggestion on my wordpress homepage. Oh. my. goodness. My fiance LOVES coconut. Can’t wait to try this out!

  3. These look so good! Thanks for sharing!!

  4. i love cupcakes! those look ridiculously good. 😀

  5. Great photos. It’s 9:20 and I want a cupcake. Congrats on being Freshly Pressed.

  6. thank you

  7. Did you NOT get the memo that you cannot post yummy looking food until Mikalee Byerman (that’s me) has had breakfast? Cuz I clearly sent the memo. Ugh.

    😉

    These look beautiful. And scrumptious. And I love the combo of coconut and vanilla — thanks for the recipe.

  8. Wow! mouthwatering, coconut, vanilla bean… oh the hunger has set in now. *laugh* Thanks.

  9. You’re making me hungry! The cupcakes look soooooooo good!

    Congrats on being freshly pressed. Hang on for the ride!

    Kathy

  10. mmmm looks tasty. im gonna have to take this recipe from you, my sweet tooth is aching right now.

  11. theveryhungrybookworm

    I want some…NOW. Thanks for the wonderful pictures!

  12. These sound yummy. I’ve been eating a lot of coconut milk ice cream lately, so I have coconut on the brain!

  13. I need to make this one for my wife she loves coconut. Thanks!

  14. The pics are making my mouth water! Thanks for sharing…I’m always on the lookout for desserts that don’t include chocolate.

  15. Those look so good! I want one haha

  16. I hope I am the first to congratulate you on you being Freshly Pressed!
    Well done. Your blog is lovely. I am subscribing now. Thanks for sharing.

  17. looks so elegant! and sounds so good! congrats on fp

  18. This sounds really tasty. I think I am making them over the weekend. Congrats on being freshly pressed.

  19. akatwentyeight

    Yes please is right – these look so delicious.. thanks for sharing 🙂

  20. oooh… coconut… I’m going to make these! :o)

  21. Coconut cupcakes are the best!!
    Lovely blog btw 🙂

  22. What inspiration! I’ll try these soon but need to buy coconut extract! These will be perfect for the next coffee party at church.

  23. I’ve got an urge to bake cupcakes now!

  24. you rock! these are making my tummy rumble….

  25. Vanilla bean frosting + cupcake = deliciously champion!
    Ok this is wrong, I might breaking the kitchen in the middle of the night just by looking at your cupcakes photos. xD

  26. Oh these look delicious! Congrats on the front page of WP.com!

  27. these look AMAZING. i can practically taste them. i made a chocolate peanut butter cupcake a few weeks ago that were fantastic. getting in a cupcake groove is easy. getting out isn’t. pity.

    cheers!
    http://www.modestcupboard.wordpress.com

    • I did a choco peanut butter cupcake last week too! I modified a recipe that (I think) I already posted on here and they were SO much butter. Maybe I will repost 🙂 Thank you!

  28. All County Insurance - Brea, California

    The things I would do to have one of those cupcakes right now! I’m not huge on baking but these seem to wonderful to not try out and it’s probably MY turn to make some dessert for the family. They’ll probably where in the hell I found such a great recipe. I’ll have to come back here and let you know how it went. Thanks for sharing!

  29. You had me at coconut! Congrats on being FP!

  30. OMG I love coconut. I am already trying to decide what other icing flavors I would like on it . Yum.

  31. Someone, somewhere must be on the verge of figuring out how to transfer real muffins across the Internet.

  32. Well, that just makes me want to get my big mixing bowl out and make a big batch of those cupcakes! I love coconut and vanilla, and I think this would be so good to try. I’m already wanting a big glass of ice cold milk to go with it. Yummy…!

  33. mmmmmmmmmm these look amazing! coconuts and cupcakes what’s not to love!
    great looking blog by the way

  34. I hate you Alyssa (not really hate, just said for dramatic impact) …those cupcakes look so yummo, it means I will have to work out 3x as hard this week after I bake them and eat them all.

    Congrats on being Freshly Baked…I mean Freshly Pressed.

    Blessings,

    Ava
    xox

  35. yammy nice post i love it

  36. These look good! I love cupcakes, so I’ll definitely have to try out this recipe.

  37. Pingback: Hello there! | Woodland Dreams

  38. Coconut and vanilla?! Yum, that seems to be a great idea! 😉 I’m absolutely going to try this!

    Congratulations on being Freshly Pressed !

  39. Yum. Sounds good. You should make some Hamburger cupcakes too like this =) http://everythingburger.wordpress.com/2010/08/06/amazing-in-n-out-burger-cupcakes/

  40. yummy! what do you use for photo editing software? i love how you can write on your photos!

  41. Very good, I can taste them even before I bake them. Thanks for the post.
    Zach

  42. Coconut and Vanilla look like an amazing combination!!!!

  43. What an intriguing recipe! Would have never thought to mix vanilla and coconut. Now I cannot wait to try this! P.S. I love Sadie!!! Sooo cute!

  44. daaang, miss popular! these DO look delicious. 🙂

  45. Congrats on your cupcake fame! You deserve it 🙂

  46. I would love to come up with a recipe for mocha cupcakes with a vanilla bean frosting. That should be you next challege!! Congrats on being FP’ed!

  47. i’m heading out now to get the ingredients! my sweet tooth is killing me 😀

  48. oh wow! YUM! these look so good! 😉

  49. ➵ƮƕʊƞƋƐƦ Ɲȋƞǰą☁

    mmm These sound delicous!

  50. Great when you want a plain ole’ cupcake instead of a big fancy one. 🙂

  51. Not the best thing to read first thing in the morning. Toast just isn’t gonna cut it now!
    Great recipe!

  52. I MUST MAKE THESE! yumm!

  53. amandasworldofmotherhood

    Mmm, I can’t wait to make these!

  54. Alyssa…You’re a bad girl for posting this. So much for diets!
    Congrats on FP

  55. Love the presentation.

  56. I love to be in the kitchen, and you just gave me an excuse to go shopping and bake! Yummeh!! Though, can I substitute the coconut for something else? If I cant Its ok, my fam loves coconut.

  57. LOVE IT!

    You’ve got some pretty good piping skillz.

  58. Did you NOT get the memo that you cannot post yummy looking food until Mikalee Byerman (that’s me) has had breakfast? Cuz I clearly sent the memo. Ugh.

  59. This could make me break my sugar fast. Nothing better than sharing a little cupcake joy! Thank you.

  60. Thanks so much for sharing the recipe. I’ve got the ingredients, now I just need some free time to bake!

  61. I keep sending this to people in the hope that someone will bake them for me! This looks really good…I’ll take a dozen. Come on ladies! What do I have to buy to make this happen??

  62. I really love your blog and I like cooking too. Your cupcakes are so cute and look delicious. I’ll try to make it next time~Love it~~~

  63. looks delicious.

  64. baking and confectionery not really my skill – but awesome recipe, thanks for keeping it SIMPLE!!

    rock on with those recipes…

  65. I think imma dream about this cuppycake tonight, I heart coconut!

  66. Congratulations, sister! You deserve the spotlight for your AWESOME creations! You gotta open up a shop because you would blow all the others out of the water! 🙂

  67. Great photos. It’s 9:20 and I want a cupcake. Congrats on being Freshly Pressed.
    http://www.showstvonline.net

  68. realanonymousgirl2011

    Not only do those delicious, they also look beautiful!

  69. Coconut and vanilla are my two favorite flavors. And together? YUM!!
    Congrats on being freshly pressed! 🙂

  70. Mmm, I must say I’ve never heard of coconut vanilla bean cupcakes but after gazing at the picture and perusing the ingredients, it sure does sound tasty to me.

    Nice post Alyssa.

  71. Those cakes are making me salivate, they look delicious. Could you do a recipe conversion to English measures/items?

  72. nice to be here–

  73. I love it! I’m now thinking of baking.

  74. Pingback: FadedFarm’s Friday Finds « fadedfarm

  75. Delish, my two favourite things – vanilla and coconut1 Congrats on FP 🙂

  76. It looks very delicious!
    Thanks for sharing this recipe!
    I shall start baking cupcakes when my oven gets fixed!

  77. I’m happy to leave my first reply here~
    So hungry…
    Cooking Makes Life Better:)

  78. That sure looks delicious 🙂

  79. Pingback: The Friday Five « Food Adventures in Hartford County

  80. OMG, I gained 4 lbs. just reading the recipe! Can’t wait to try these.

  81. Whoa! A million billion comments! This cupcakes look divine! Yumm!

  82. Coconut and Vanilla Bean – an inspired combo!! Just beautiful! Congrats on being Freshly Pressed.

  83. Pingback: $8 for Six Cupcakes from Butter Lane ($16 Value) - Daily Couponds

  84. I cannot wait to try these! Any chance you made a few extra dozen to express mail to me?? YUM!

  85. yep my mouth is definitely watering now.
    These are a MUST try!
    Thanks so much for sharing

    xxoxo
    bB

    please do stop by and say hi
    http://www.itsybitsybrianna.wordpress.com

  86. Actually, since this recipe uses the whole egg – wouldn’t they qualify as “yellow” cupcakes? It doesn’t really matter to me – they look absolutely wonderful; I wonder, however, how they would taste as white cuppies – leave out the yolks, and whip the egg whites then fold into the batter? Might make a really “wedding-style” cupcake! What do you think?

  87. The pics are making my mouth water! Thanks for sharing…I’m always on the lookout for desserts that don’t include chocolate.

  88. Thank you for sharing your recipe. I just pulled some hot out of the oven and these are some delicious cupcakes. Can’t wait until they cool down enough for frosting. I’ve linked your blog up to mine with some hypertext.

  89. Pingback: Revel stoke… « Canuck'd

  90. Ok, so I scrolled through all the comments to see if anyone had actually made these and commented on them…..and found none. I’ve been looking for a good icing recipe and came across yours. I did not bake the cake recipe you have but used this icing recipe for my own cupcakes. I would have to say I was very happy with the results. I feel if heaven had a taste, that would be it. It is a little lighter and fluffier than I like my icing, and for me to compliment any light/fluffy icing at all is a good thing 🙂

    Below is a link to my blog and a picture of my cupcake with this icing.
    http://thoughtsthingsandtingtings.blogspot.com/2011/04/colorful-tasty-sinful-things.html

  91. Wow they looks nice! I have to bake some too ^.^

  92. That looks so delicious! Very tempting.

    Raymund
    http://angsarap.wordpress.com

  93. Pingback: I Bake: Coconut Vanilla Bean Cupcakes « Producer JMILLA X Life Love Hip-Hop

  94. The things I would do to have one of those cupcakes right now! I’m not huge on baking but these seem to wonderful to not try out and it’s probably MY turn to make some dessert for the family. They’ll probably where in the hell I found such a great recipe. I’ll have to come back here and let you know how it went. Thanks for sharing!

  95. these cupcakes must be delicious.

  96. I NEED these in my life!!!! 🙂

  97. Vanilla bean frosting + cupcake = deliciously champion!
    Ok this is wrong, I might breaking the kitchen in the middle of the night just by looking at your cupcakes photos. xD

  98. Pingback: Look, A Cupcake « still my breaks

  99. Pingback: Vanilla Cupcake Pictures… egy kis vanilia cupcake izelito! | Cupcakes all round!

  100. Well, that just makes me want to get my big mixing bowl out and make a big batch of those cupcakes! I love coconut and vanilla, and I think this would be so good to try. I’m already wanting a big glass of ice cold milk to go with it. Yummy…!

  101. Pingback: Ten | Woodland Dreams

Leave a Reply

