I Bake: Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookies

I had a bag of peanut butter chips laying around that I wanted to use up, so I decided I wanted to make some sort of chocolate peanut butter cookie.  I did a little bit of searching for a good chocolate cookie recipe and found one via Annie Eats that I thought I would try because they were labeled as “giant” cookies, and well, I’ve never made a giant cookie!  They turned out pretty good, and oh my they are large! Dense, yummy chocolate with peanut buttery goodness. Yum!  Here’s the recipe:

Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookies
Adapted from Annie Eats

1 cup cold, unsalted butter, cubed
1¼ cup sugar
2 large eggs
½ cup cocoa powder
2¼ cups all-purpose flour
¼ tsp. salt
1 tsp. baking powder
1 bag (10 oz) peanut butter baking chips

Preheat the oven to 350˚ F.  In the bowl of an electric mixer, combine the butter and sugar.  Beat together on medium-high speed until light and fluffy, 2-3 minutes.  Blend in the eggs one at a time, scraping down the bowl as needed.  Mix in the cocoa powder until well blended.  Add the flour, salt and baking powder to the bowl and mix on low speed just until incorporated.  Fold in the peanut butter chips with a spatula.  Transfer the dough to a work surface and knead briefly by hand to be sure the ingredients are well combined.

Divide the dough into 12 equal pieces.  Roll each portion of dough into a ball and flatten just slightly into a disc.  Place on the prepared baking sheets, a few inches apart.  Bake 16-20 minutes.  Let cool on the baking sheets 5-10 minutes, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely. Be sure not to overbake or they might be just a little to dry!

2 responses to “I Bake: Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookies

  1. Just today I was craving a peanut butter chocolate chip cookie. How have I never thought to reverse the combo? These look delicious!

  2. mmmmmm! adding the milk makes it that much more perfect. thanks for posting! xoxo

Leave a Reply

